top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

What did you just do?

Updated: Aug 18, 2022

Anyway.

Been extremely busy.


This past weekend was the trifecta. A few weeks back, Scott and I went shopping at Lakeside, where we met up with Derek (who was buying Brit's engagement ring) and he asked me if I would take the pictures (something I agreed to a longggg time ago) and I of course, said yes. The plan was to go to XMas In The Oaks. As weeks passed by, secret chats and texts were started. The plan solidified, until it was an hour-by-hour operation with places to stand, cues to pick up on, and death threats if the entire thing was compromised. I don't know who was more nervous, me or Derek. I decided I would take my Nikon for a test drive at Connor's party Friday night. I was so nervous that I would slip up and say something to Brit that I put a reminder on my watch to 'don't say shit about fuck' every hour on the hour.


Friday night I had everything ready to go. Left Kenner, shot to DA to get Bryan, then went to Connor's. It didn't take long before others started showing up. It was a massive party, and of course I took almost 329 pictures. My DSLR was NOT behaving. It was a miracle no one said anything to Brit, because everyone knew, and people were drinking. I tried not to talk much around her.


It was a MASSIVE party. Myself, Bryan, Scott, Lina & Connor (duh, it's their house) Brad, Liz, Stacie, Derek C, Brittney, Derek D, Glenn, Ahri, Sean, Julian, Holly,

Zach, Molly, Hava, Tory, Kayla, Deshi, Cody, Patrick, Kelly, and Tara. There were also a lot of kids in attendance, and Connor's parents were hanging out with us too. We ate (had a fuck-ton of food, as usual) and then we all gathered on the back porch and everyone played White Elephant. At some point the kids were running around asking people if they would like to be inducted into the Church of Satan. It was that kind of party. All in all, great fucking time, but it didn't go into the wee hours like HCC parties of yore because kids, and bedtime. And you know, we're old and shit.


So Bryan and Scott and I came back here. I knew I wouldn't have much time over the weekend, so I forced my self to do edits right away. I woke up early on Saturday morning, went to get my blood taken, went to Winn Dixie to get some potato salad, then dropped it back off at home. Went and got Riley. Had some time to kill before the movie so I decided to take him to the cemetery to see what he thought of it. Riley isn't one to get spooked easily (and boys love all kinds of weird, macabre shit) so it was really cool showing him around. Left around 11, got to Clearview, got some snacks, then went and sat down. The movie was amazing! Long, but amazing. I was starting to worry that I wouldn't have time to get ready to go to the Oaks. I dropped Riley back off and then shot home to get ready. It was disgusting outside, hot and sticky, so I knew there was no point getting too fixed up. At four Bryan and I left and I dropped him off at Michelle's. Got to City Park before anyone else and as I was driving through, I was surprised that no one else seemed to be there. Parking at Xmas In The Oaks is usually a pain in the dick. Had a lot of time to kill, so I got out and decided to go to the gate. Derek had told me that they opened at 5, and it was around 4:40. There were a few other people loitering around waiting, until someone spotted the sign on the ticket booth: Closed For Inclement Weather. What the fuck, man. $35 a head and they close down on us? It wasn't even raining! I immediately texted the Engagement Group. Derek wasn't too happy (couldn't blame him, his plan had been carefully crafted) but after some discussion it was decided they'd still come out to do it at the Oaks. He had gotten her Mom and her Nanny to come down from GA to surprise her (after he popped the ??) and her Mom had the ring because Derek couldn't carry it on him. It was in a custom box that was way too noticeable. He asked me to go scope out some places to do it, so I did. Scott was trying to get there but the traffic was murder because there was still the driving tour going on. I tried to go check out the Sculpture Garden, but it was closed, too. Got some beignets. Scott showed up, we looked around, decided on the bridge. Had some time to kill before Derek and Brit got there, so he got beignets, too. Derek and Brittney got there but they walked around for a bit to distract her. Met up with them. Still waiting on the ring. Her Mom and her Nanny were having the same problems getting into the park, so it took them awhile. By that time, Derek and I are both flop sweating. I was a nervous wreck because it was very dark and my objective was to get every look on her face. Derek was flopsweating because, well, you know, marriage, and shit.


Finally, Derek left to go to the 'bathroom' and I left Scott to distract Brittany. Her Mom and her Nanny showed up. Derek gave me the ring to hold until it was time to pass it to him. We crossed the bridge (her Mom and Nanny stayed back) and I said, 'Hey, let me get a few pics of ya'll under the lights' so they are doing that, and cheesing and being all disgustingly cute and made for each other and the entire time I can see Derek's heart banging out of his chest. Brittany insists on taking a selfie. At that point we're all about to have strokes. Scott starts videotaping behind me. Derek says, "I want to get one more picture." Brittney says, "Yeah, what?"


He hits the knee.


Snap. Snap. Snap. Got. Every. Expression. On. Her. Face. Which was complete and utter shock and disbelief, because Brittany had given up hope after Chewy had wasted her time for ten damn years. Scott told us afterward that when we had left them on the bridge, she had been talking about really wanting to get engaged, so it was very prophetic timing. She was so stunned that it took her about two minutes to say yes, but it was a very happy and emphatic yes, which, of course, we all knew it would be.


So after all the kissing and hugging and crying, Derek says, "I have another surprise for you" and then her Mom and her Nanny walk out of the shadows. I thought Brittany was going to faint. How we managed to hide all this from her was a goddamn miracle, because if I were Brittany I would have been suspicious as all get out from the weird situation we were in. I mean, why the fuck were we all randomly hanging out in the dark at City Park?


So there's even more happy tears all around, barf barf barf etc etc etc, and excited FaceTime calls, weee, and then it's hot and mosquitoey in the dark, so we decided to go to Cafe Du Monde so the ladies could get beignets. Plus, we needed to give the surprise party guests time to get to Michelle's. So we're just sitting there all happy and Brittany is chewing us out for being so secretive and then I look at my phone and see that this massive weather shit that the Oaks closed down for is actually coming our way, and since we had to get to Michelle's before them, Scott and I said goodbye, because we were going 'home' and were going to give them time to be with family. Right when we got to Michelle's, it started to fucking pour. We had to park around the corner so Brit wouldn't see our cars, and the wind was so bad that it nearly yanked my umbrella out of my hands. Got inside, place looks lovely, Amanda and Sam and Stacie and Michelle are already there, trying to set up a massive Zoom call on the TV with all of Brit's TX, GA, and LA friends who couldn't make it. Couldn't do it. Meanwhile, we are trying to give everyone time to show up, which means Derek has to distract Brittany in town. Julian shows up, so does Jeremy. It gets to the point where Derek can't hold Brit back any longer, so we all sit in the dark by the door. When they came in, we threw rose petals all over them. It was a great party. Had some good cookins. Maddy showed up, too. Took a lot of pictures.


After awhile we decide to split because we are all fucking exhausted, so we all break for home. Got home and started working on photo edits because I knew Brit wanted them to share on Facebook. Passed the fuck out.


Woke up. More photo edits. Video editing. Scott doesn't feel well, so he stays in bed all day. We are supposed to go to Liz's at 4:30, but he felt crappy, so he stayed home. Bryan and I went and hung out with Liz and Brad and Sean and Ahri. She made some bang ass Rotel dip. I gotta get that recipe. It was a good, fun, low key time. Came home. Passed out. Fuck. Fuck. Long weekend. Shocked we made it through.

Went to LaPlace and got Jack, who I really missed. Work has been a pain because it's Xmas week and no one's scheduling anything. Went to Walmart to get some gift wrapping stuff and drinks for Friday.


Tomorrow we are going to see the Matrix with a bunch of people after work. Then Thursday I have to work. And then I have to clean my fucking ass off because everyone is coming. over here after dinner at the Brick Oven on Friday. I am so ready for Christmas to be over. I did a good bit of cleaning today but like I said, I feel pretty worn down, so I am going to try and get some sleep tonight. I really need to go back to Walmart cause I forgot some stuff but I can't do it tomorrow and it'll be a madhouse Thursday night, so I gotta see if I can wake my ass up early tomorrow and do it, which I doubt.


Anyway.

I am fucking out.

-Rae

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page