top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

paradise

So my birthday (our birthday, should I say) weekend has come and gone, mostly positive but with some setbacks, as usual.


Woke up Saturday and let the boys sleep while I got some other things together, last minute things. Got dressed, got them out of bed, Bryan had to run and go do an errand real quick, came back just in the nick of time. We had to go to Rouses for ice (got way too much) and then went to Autum's to do the ice chests. Got that done, hopped on the road. My GPS got me getting there too early (I forgot how short of a trip it was) and we (Autum, Mom & Dad, Dav & Miss Laurie) stopped at the Racetrac to use the bathroom and waste some time. When we pulled up to Paradise, Zach and Holly and the kids were already there. Started getting everything set up, people started arriving. They did some renovations to it, it was much nicer then I remembered. It was pandemonium there for awhile but everyone seemed to be having a good time. Lots of food, my fears about running out of food were unfounded. I didn't drink one thing and it was surprisingly easy. I didn't take as many pictures as I wanted to. Tyler bought me a plastic sword. Dav and I tried to steer a boat but that didn't work out well.


Swam, ate, visited, ran around like a crazy person, we did cake and presents. We had a doberge for me, a Chantilly for Dav & Bryan, and Sidney made me a dark chocolate raspberry cheesecake, which was amazeballs. More visiting. Near the end of the party, Holly brought out a Baby Yoda piñata she had gotten for me and I went to town on that fucker, pretending it was the automated voice from BCBS. She had filled it with Hershey bars. FUN. I really do have some awesome friends. My only regret about the party is that I didn't get enough pictures.


Picking up that place is kind of a pain in the ass, made even more so because there's no damn dumpster, I felt bad for my friends, having to truck back trash, it's one of the only downsides to that place. We managed to do it, though, and Bryan, Scott and I got in my car, closely followed by Derek, Brit, Briallen, and Sidney so that they could check us into the Hampton in Slidell. Hotel room was super nice, we watched LOTR for awhile before Bryan and I got hungry and went to pick up some Walk-Ons. Ate, passed the fuck out, we had that AC down to 60 degrees.


Woke up the next morning and got some Hampton breakfast, which is surprisingly yummy. Packed up, got on the road to MS. Mom and Autum and Dad decided to go eat somewhere else, so we stopped at Play & Talk, where Scott got me a totally cute camera purse. Went to Murky Waters (bonngggg) and fucked up some BBQ. Got back on the road to the Oasis, which was not far from Murky Waters. That place is SUPER fucking nice. Checked into our room (also nice, that whole place smelled amazing, I wish I knew what that scent was) and we got into our swimming stuff and went down to the pool, which is a massive lazy river, complete with slides. There was hardly anyone out there, which was even better, and the water was refreshing. We all hung out there for awhile, I got on the slide twice (the second time I got stuck up there and some kid came flying down and kicked me in the back on accident) we got some drinks, and then Dad came down to hang with us. We were getting tired and had plans to go to Half Shell later, so we got out of the pool. Riley had school the next day, so Autum took him home. We went and chilled for awhile, got ready, then went to Half Shell with my parents. Everything was super delicious, and we had a really nice time. Said goodnight to them, came back to hotel. We started Bryan on the LOTR trilogy (he had never seen it) but sooner or later the coldness of the room and the long day got to us and we passed the fuck out.


Woke up, got dressed, checked out. We went to Fuji, which was sooooo fucking good. Decided to go to BSL and look around, I had gotten a Fleurty Girl gift card from my Mom, but I didn't see anything I wanted, will prob go to the Metairie store this weekend. We looked in some of the antique shops, got back on the road. Halfway there, Scott realizes he forgot his new Star Wars game in the hotel room. Had to go all the way back to Gulfport. Stopped at Hub Hobby so Bryan could get a Gundam for his birthday, then went to Crumbl, then fought traffic. Didn't get home till 5ish. More LOTR. Sleep.


The boys went home Monday, I went and got Jack, who's been acting weird. Work has been easy, but TGIF. Have plans to go to Luling tomorrow. Nothing for Sunday. Sid is hanging out tonight so we can watch Clerks III.


Last night I was watching The Watcher on Netflix, and someone started knocking on my door. My first thought was that it was Mom, since she said she was coming my way, but she would have called, and Mom doesn't come up to my apartment unless she has to. The knocking got more insistent. Being a female all alone at home at night, I went and looked through my peephole. Nobody was there. Fuckkkk that. I stayed quiet until they went away. The only person that ever knocks on my door is my neighbor, who will only do it if my car window is open or something, and I would have been able to see her. Suffice it to say, I was freaked out. That movie is not what you want to be watching when some weirdo knocks on your door. I had Mom FaceTime me when I brought Jack out. I'm still a little freaked, but what am I gonna do? If it happens again, I'll call 911.


Next weekend is Brit and Derek's Halloween party, and maybe the day after, the boys and I will go to Miyakos. Other than that, life goes on as normal. I have been noticing things about myself that I'm not particularly proud of, so I'm going to be trying to change my ways a little.


Dad gave me a good bit of green for my birthday so I've been fucking up Amazon. A lot of stuff is getting delivered today.

Today is the 12 year anniversary of the creation of HCC! Glenn suggested t-shirts, which I kinda wanna do, but I don't wanna seem like an idiot.


-Rae

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page