top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

Mardi Gras 2022

Updated: Mar 21, 2022

Well, Mardi Gras finally happened. After almost two whole years of being held hostage by COVID, we all donned our purple, gold and green, dragged out our ladders and our ice chests and our silly hats and laissez le bon temps rouler'd real good. Before COVID I had pretty much ignored Mardi Gras, but since the first parade was a success, we decided to try Fat Tuesday. Initially it didn't look like a big group, but there was about fifteen or so of us there. I went and got Bryan Monday night. We went to the store to get provisions. Scott had to work, but he let me use his ice chest. Made sandwiches, got clothes laid out.


Woke up early, got dressed (BABY YODA MARDI GRAS SHIRT, WOOT) applied a fuckton of glitter to my person, tucked glitter in my backpack, assembled ice chest, then Bryan and I left to go get Autum. Brittany was panicking because they had set out some sheets the night before to mark our spot but people were hemming them in and they were losing the space, so we had to hurry. I was nervous about driving in parade traffic but once we got off Clearview and on Frontage Road, it was easy. Got to the spot, set up. Autum had brought Riley and Laken. We got there pretty much right in time. Everyone wanted me to put glitter on them, even a girl who was sitting next to our spot, so pretty much everyone in our group had glitter all over their faces. Brittany got some on her boobs. I had brought two flasks but I didn't want to get stupid drunk like I did a few years ago, so I just did some sipping. Amongst those in attendance: Myself, Bryan, Autum, Riley, Laken, Brittany, Derek D, Adam, Michelle, Sidney C, Connor, Lina, Sonya, Ms. Cathy, Derek D, Glenn, Zach, Karlah & her kiddo, Tori, his girlfriend (I can never remember her name, Kayla?) Holly & her puppy, Molly & Hava, a few friends of Adam's. Michelle showed up much later with a tent, which was good because it was very warm out there. I wanted to take 300 pictures, but I only got 263, but OH MY GOD I love my camera so much. I didn't try to catch anything because I didn't want the beads to scratch up said camera, but there was a really cool Star Wars float. We had a great time, dancing and eating and drinking and otherwise being idiots. The parades didn't last long at all. They started rolling at 10:00 and by 2, it was done. Back in the day (2002-2003) we'd camp out in Uncle Scott's van in the Severn parking lot and be out there super early and party till it got dark.

There weren't concrete post parade plans, so after we finished packing up everything, trying to hurry while they cleaned the streets, Derek said he was gonna try to get the conference room at the hotel. Everyone said goodbye, Autum left with Karlah and the kids, and Bryan and I went up to Adam's for a minute, then came back here. I was exhausted but I didn't want to take a nap and I wanted Scott to be able to see his friends because he hadn't gotten to come out. The conference room at the hotel wasn't available, so it was agreed we'd go over to Adam's for a game night. We waited till Scott got back from work, during which time I cussed at myself every time I got tired and worked on pictures. We decided to take two cars because I had to go get Jack from LaPlace and I know how the boys get with games, so I stopped at McD's in Metairie and got some nuggets and then went over to Adam's, where Derek, Sidney, and Adam were waiting. Everyone else was too tired. Stayed for awhile and listened to them bitch about Ubereats, then left to go get Jack. By the time I got here, I was pooped. Took a bath and laid down for awhile. Sleep.


This weekend I want to go to the Food Truck Fest and then after that, Scott and myself and his Mom are going to see Batman. I am starting to have stomach issues again so I'm trying to head them off because I do NOT want to spend my weekend like I spent last week.


In other news, the world is really going to hell in a hand basket. Gas is almost $4. There's a war or a disturbance or some general fuckery going on with Ukraine vs. Russia, and in a case of 'I never thought I'd see the day', I actually feel sorry for Kim Kardashian. Looking at the news is scary and depressing and thinking about the future makes me into a nervous wreck, so I try not to.


-Rae

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page