top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

FanExpo 2023

At long last (not really, surprisingly) the post none of you have been waiting for.


The week leading up to FanExpo was filled with a lot of eggs, Jell-O, and ranch dip, and OT. Last weekend I was the only one who worked the voluntary Jan 2 double time, it was easy as hell. Also somehow managed to wake up on time all week to get my mandatory 5 hours in in the morning. I had pretty much everything sewn up for con by the time the boys got here on Friday. Scott wanted to go to Zuppardo's for a muffuletta (which he didn't even eat at con) so when the boys got there (earlier then usual) we all hopped in Scott's car. On the way there, Sidney said that he and Brit and Derek were going to Parran's, so we ran to Zupp's and got our stuff, then joined them there. I was brave enough to try a club sandwich, which was good. It was a lot of fun. After, we went to Baskin Robbins, then said goodbye. Came back here. Fucked around. Went to sleep.


Woke up early Saturday, got ready, got dressed, finished last minute packing. Sid got here, we went to McDonalds, in the drive through I saw that I forgot to give him the parking pass, had to book it back here, I was kicking myself. Got on the road to NOLA, found our hotel easy enough, waited 9 minutes to check in. The room was FANTASTIC. Great hotel. We had a stove and a microwave and a dishwasher and enough room to chill comfortably. Will definitely book the Sonesta again next year. Worth the $. We were a little later walking to con then we usually are, but it wasn't a far walk and we got in, got our badges, and got inside. There was a sloth and a kangaroo there this year (which was new) and I wanted to go back and take a pic with one, but I found out later it was $50, too much bread for me. The first place we went was the autograph area because Scott had an autograph with Joseph Quinn and the site wasn't saying what time it was for, lucky he checked, because everyone was in line. We left him there. Met up with Sidney. Got some chocolate (they had my favorite kind!) and looked around. Lost Sid for awhile. Saw Kurry! He had his own booth there this year, selling comics. Walked around with Sidney for awhile. Met up with Brad and Liz by the autograph area again, where we were waiting on Scott. Joseph Quinn signed his Metallica 'Master of Puppets' record. Scott said he was a super nice guy. For a minute we had a nice little group going on, but of course it's hard to keep track of everyone at con. Sid went back to the room for awhile to lay down. We walked around and looked at things. Bryan got some Gundams. I got some glitter (THEY CAME BACK!) and some pretty earrings. Scott got some other stuff. Scott got me a Raphael TMNT Funkopop, which is difficult to find. I saw a Polaroid camera Funko but I'm glad I didn't get it there because I found it for cheaper online. We looked around some more and then met up with Brad and Liz again. They got that con root beer that's always there and we decided to go back to the room and get some food.


I got some Dickie Brennan's and the boys got pizza, Bryan got 5 Guys. We hung out in the room, Brad and Liz went back to con, we decided to stay. Ate our food (Cuban sandwich was pretty good) and goofed around until Cody got there, who had been in the city day drinking with the gays all day, they showed up not long after that. We had to keep going back and forth to the lobby to get people because the front door required a card, but I was super thrilled to discover that those rooms are insulated. They were being super loud but once you closed the door, you couldn't hear shit, which is awesome because that's always definitely a worry of mine at con time. Adam showed up, and then Brad and Liz. We were waiting on Brit and her group, but they didn't show up until almost ten, and by that time, the gays and Brad and Liz had left. They came rollin up with an ice chest full of booze and BOOM, we were off to the races. I'm not drinking right now, but everyone else sure as hell was. Maddie and Erich showed up, and then Julian's foolish idiot ass popped up out of nowhere. It got kinda wild, and I mean wild in a way it hasn't been in a longggg time. I'll save the juiciness for my secret blog. I didn't get as many pics as I wanted, but I got enough to be somewhat satisfied, because they're um...wow.


I was getting tired and I knew I had to go to bed because I had to be up early to take Riley to con, and I didn't know how ragged he was gonna run me, but for reasons I won't go into here, I was up until almost 4am, which I was not happy about. I managed to get a few hours of sleep, but I still woke up feeling like someone had punched my eyes in. Got up, got ready, got packed, woke up Sid, who was riding back to Sunlake with my sister and my aunt when they dropped off Riley. Scott decided spur of the moment that he wanted to go to con Sunday, so Bryan got his stuff and came with me and Sid. We drove to the Convention Center lot and I waited outside with them watching the con attendees arrive and waiting for Riley. They showed up, we said hi, goodbye, and then Ri and I headed inside. He didn't get a badge (I gave him mine) and after we got checked in, we walked in, and his reaction was everything I was hoping. He was in awe. Our photoshoot wasn't until 12, and we got there early enough to where a lot of the booths weren't open. We walked around and Riley blew through his money like a hurricane. He got a lot of Pokemon/anime stuff. He got a free print right off the bat from someone at a Dragonball Z/Sonic booth and his first signed Spiderman comic. We tried fudge. We took pictures with droids. He was really good about asking people permission to take pics with him, people kept saying how cute he was. I was grateful when 11:30 came around, my feet were killing me, and we had seen everything there was to see. We lined up for Joseph Quinn. I was nervous. It took them a minute to get us back there, but when we started moving, Riley was nervous too. Joseph Quinn is a total fox and a half. He gave Riley a double high five AND a hug. Took pic, I look like garbage but it wasn't for me, and Riley was thrilled. I got a hug from Joseph Quinn too. He is so totally sweet.


Riley kept saying "OMIGOD THAT WAS AWESOME! THAT WAS THE BEST PART OF THE WHOLE DAY!" I can't tell you how good that made me feel.

We got my extra print, then a pic protector, then left. It was raining. Brought Riley to Taco Bell. On the way home, he said, "Today was the best day of my entire life." I almost teared up. He said "WE HAVE TO GO BACK!" I said, "Every year now, my man." I am very much looking forward to next year. When we saw goodbye, he hugged me extra long and extra hard. It made my day, I can't tell you. It's a high I'll be riding for a long time.


I got home, dropped my stuff off, got in the tub. I was exhausted. Thirty minutes later, Scott comes back, we got into bed and passed out. Woke up around 5, decided to go to Miyakos. It was so goddamn good that I didn't even care if it wrecked my stomach. I still have a lot of it to eat but I am waiting until dinner. Came back here and tried to get started on pics, but Wix totally screwed with me, I was in tears. Finally got it all straightened out this morning. Also managed to fix me and Riley's J. Quinn pic so that I don't look as bad as I did.


Gotta go and get Jack after work, and Scott is bringing Bryan home later. I'm still so tired and I didn't even drink this weekend. Getting old is bullshit. I have an MD appointment on Wednesday, thank God, I need some Ativan before I lose my shit. I have been feeling better, though, just taking it easy. My stomach is handling food better than I thought it would be.


Anyway. More later. Got some stuff to do.


Rae



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page