top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

FanExpo 2022

Updated: Mar 6, 2022

Well, we made it to con, they didn't cancel it. Quite happy that FanExpo didn't buckle down to peer pressure.


Woke up Saturday, got ready, left, got breakfast, put air in my tires, shot off to the hotel. The room was ready, so we valeted the car and took the stuff up and left Bryan there. Started the walk to the Convention Center. It really wasn't that bad of a walk. Usually we're all the way down by Harrah's or the Omni, at this hotel we were about halfway, so def will keep Hilton Garden Inn in our back pocket for future years. We had to go get our badges (which had to be activated, fancy) and then Scott had to go and get his VIP stuff. Brit, Derek, Sidney C and his girl (ex girl now) were on the way in so we waited for them. Once they got in, they stopped to watch the band (yes, there was a band, suck on that, Wizard World) and Scott and I couldn't wait anymore so we went in. First thing I saw was the chocolate booth (YAY!) so of course I stopped and got some. FanExpo had much nicer booths and was very organized. It wasn't too crowded, and there was a TON to look at. We occasionally bumped into Derek and Brit, but it's very hard to keep together in a group at con, so we all just floated here and there. Great art this year. I bought an awesome, super colorful metal print of Mando. Also got some Pocky and Porg earrings and a mini Little Mermaid tile mosaic. Lots of people cosplayed this year. Saw lots of Mandos (got a pic with an especially nice one) Scott bought a fuckton of stuff. I saw a lot of art I liked but I no longer have space on my walls for any more art, so I had to stop myself. We walked around for a good 3 1/2 hours before we had seen everything and were hungry, so we tried to get the others together for lunch, but Brit had to go back to work at 3 and there isn't anywhere around the Warehouse District that people wanted to walk to, so Scott and I said goodbye to them and decided to Waitr something to the room. We had a lot of time before the afterparty so we went back to the room and ordered Fuddruckers, which was pretty good. I wanted to go back to con because I forgot about the strawberry chocolate and I wanted to see if they had any, but Scott didn't want to go back, so I walked there by myself. They didn't have it (boo) which is disappointing because that thing tastes like they put a fruit rollup into chocolate. Walked around a bit again but didn't see anything new, except a huge Chewbacca and some stormtroopers. Went back to room. Hung out for awhile and set up the room for the party (I brought my Aurora projector for ambiance) but people didn't start getting there till about 7:30-8. You needed a keycard to get into the hotel so we took turns going down.


Brit had put in the notes that we wanted a room at the end of the hall (for the noise) but they didn't give that to us, so the noise factor was worrying me a bit, because we're some loud motherfuckers. Adam got there first and we hung out and talked about music. Then Derek showed up (with Sidney's brownies, YUM, who regrettably could not make it) Ahri and Sean showed up, and then Glerek, Holly and Zach showed up. Stacie called me and was like, "Rae, I can't get my ass off the couch to come, but I want to." So I said 'get your ass off the fucking couch', and she showed up. At this point they're all holding a goddamn 2000s rock concert in the living room. Mom and Autum were using my apartment since I wasn't going to be there and they went to go bring the cars to Autum's and left Demi howling in my apartment and took FOREVER to get back there, despite me fussing the hell out of them, so that was very stressful and I was pissed as fuck because I told them not to make a lot of noise and I've been waiting for Con Night for the past two years and instead I'm in the hallway bitching at them. Sooner or later they came back and I just said fuck it and went back to the party. Stacie gave me cuddles and made me feel better. I didn't drink, as usual.


Party was good (more details to come later) but it ended up that Bryan, Scott and myself never went to sleep and instead stayed up all night talking, which was nice. Had to get out of the room by 11am so we started packing up. Left Bryan with our stuff and Scott and I went around the corner to 2 Chicks and got breakfast poboys (which were really good but very spicy) and then came back to my place. Mom, Autum, and Riley were still here. Autum was using my computer to write up some documents and Mom was making food and bitching, as usual. I was starting to feel the effects of no sleep so I just went and laid down until they all left. I really didn't get much sleep until later and it's Wednesday now and I still feel like falling asleep at my desk. Getting old is bullshit.


All in all, highly enjoyable, didn't get as many pics as I wanted because I was too distracted by the Mom/Demi/Apt drama, which is annoying, but it's okay. Took me forever to edit the ones I did have. Work has not been fun. I am grateful it's a three day weekend. Doing OT tonight.


Last night, Scott and I were lying in bed dozing off and we hear banging. It sounds like it's further off down the hall, so we just ignore it. It gets louder. And louder. And then BANG BANG BANG, on my door. It was like midnight. So I get up and look through the peephole and it's a damn cop. I opened the door and he said someone called the cops on me for loud music (??????) and I was like, "Um...we're not playing loud music?" Alexa was on but it was low and there was no WAY anyone could hear it. I was like "Whatever, I'll turn down the music that's barely even on". I'm 1000000% sure it's these assholes beneath me who moved in a few weeks ago because I have lived here for almost four years now and I've never had ANYONE complain about music. I can't even hear people play music, and I've had my next door neighbor apologize to me because she 'plays her music pretty loud' but I've never heard it. I wonder if it was her playing it. Like I said, the acoustics are off in this building. If someone knocks on my door tonight (I don't even play music when Scott's not here, just my rain sounds) I'm going to tell them to harass someone else. Kiss MY fucking ass.


Anyway, I'm hungry.


Rae



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page