top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

baynays

So, Beignet Fest, the event I've been waiting to attend for two years (thanks, COVID) was kind of a disappointment. It was mostly the heat's fault, if it wouldn't have been so freaking hot it would have been fine. NOLA has never been a city with an abundance of common sense, but I still can't for the life of me figure out why the organizers decided to hold it in September. It was so hot that I thought I was going to have a panic attack standing in line. Open field, hardly any shade, the ground was all ripped up so you had to make sure you weren't going to break your neck. Luckily we got there before it opened, so we (myself, Bryan, Scott, Sid) found good parking. Cody and Eli met us out there, but we lost them pretty much immediately. Scott and I had made a list of the ones we wanted to try, but some of the ones we wanted to try weren't even there, despite being on the map. The first one on my list was the bacon cheddar ones, but their fryer was acting ridiculous so I had to wait and wait and wait, and when I got them they weren't worth it. The raspberry one was good. The burger one was eh. The lines got too long to keep trying. The best one was the andouille sausage and gravy one, which I took home. We didn't stay long. Instead, we came back to my apartment and got in the pool. It felt so good, we were almost crying in relief. We swam for awhile, came back in, Sid went home, we passed out for awhile, even though I felt like shit when I woke up. Brittany, Derek, and Sidney were all hanging out over at the Dragon's Den and putting up Halloween decorations, so we stopped at Winn Dixie for snacks and went over there to hang out. They started playing games and I needed to go home to get my clothes ready for Sunday (Granny's 93rd bday) so I left the boys there, came home, took a shower, got my clothes ready, and then went back over there. The second I pulled up, Scott called me, saying they were ready to come back. Never let it be said I don't have good timing. Sleep.


Woke up early, got ready, got gas, went to Rouses for flowers, then picked up Riley and Autum. We had to go all the way to Metairie Road to this place called Porter & Luke's. Had a nice birthday dinner with the family, muffuleta flatbread was on point, club sandwich was pretty good, Chantilly cheesecake was damn good. Met the boys at Zuppardo's because THEY HAVE CENTRAL GROCERY MUFFULETAS OMFG FTW!!!!EI*(E(#$(#$(#((!!!! That place is pretty damn nice, even though I was about to kill my nephew and have a panic attack because there were too many people around. We got some daiquiris, stopped at Autum's so they could change in their swimsuits, then came back here and got in the pool. Swam until I had to bring them home, then came back and watched Treme while the boys slept in the pool (yes, slept) and then they came back and we hung around and watched TV until we got hungry. I had water in my ear that was driving me nuts. Watched Mallrats while Scott and I ate our muffs (so goddamn good) and Bryan ate pizza. Watched Clerks II. Bath. Passed the fuck out. Did not want to work this morning. Not in the mood. Have mandatory 5 hours OT this week.


This weekend I am getting my hair cut and having the meeting for my birthday.


I am so goddamn tired.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page