top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRae

RIP

Updated: Oct 21, 2021

Uncle Scott died yesterday in Alexandria.


We were worried it would happen because he stayed for the storm and he couldn't handle the heat and all that on his heart. He and Davlyn managed to escape to a shelter in Alexandria after it passed, but he started having chest pains and they sent him to hospital. He went on a vent and became unresponsive and Nanny drove up to help Davlyn make the decision. They took him off tubes yesterday and he passed in the afternoon. Davlyn said she left to go grab something to eat and he passed so quickly after that that the nurses told her he was waiting for her to go so she wouldn't have to see it.


It has been a long, long time since Uncle Scott resembled the Uncle I grew up with, so it took me awhile to process it. He was always running us places in his big van, to the movies, to Biloxi, to wherever we wanted to go. He used to call me Satan and blame traffic jams on me. He'd always buy me pepperoni. He was always interested in what was going on in our lives. The last time I saw him was for the joint birthday party we held for him and David a few weeks ago. He seemed happy. I wish the past few years had been kinder to him and his health. I wish he wouldn't have fallen prey to some of the things he had to deal with. I hope he rests easy and he can hang out with my Meemaw, my Aunt Judy, my Grandma Ann. I'm not sure when we will be able to hold a service for him, but I hope we are able to give him the sendoff he deserves.


Christ. What a fucked up fucking month this has been already.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

at the bottom

I will not be updating this anymore, or if I do, it will be extremely sporadic. I have to force myself to write in my private journal, which is more important, and there's no point in writing two diff

kingdom of cards

my mental health is so bad. I think I need some help. this existence is fucking pointless.

somewhere out there

To preface this post, I want to say that if you have lost a loved one recently, especially a pet, I wouldn't read any further. While Jack's death was heartbreaking and sudden, it could have been much,

bottom of page